The US House of Representatives new working group will review blockchain and cryptocurrency

According to Coindesk, on May 9, the US House Financial Services Committee voted to set up a working group dedicated to financial technology – the FinTech Task Force. The team will be led by Massachusetts Congressman Stephen Lynch, who will review the blockchain and cryptocurrency tools.


Currently, the responsibilities of the working group include not only financial infrastructure and data privacy, but also management of financial technology from both domestic and international perspectives, financing and “alternative data” use in loan underwriting, and reviewing the legal and regulatory framework for the payment industry.

Blockchain supporters Warren Davidson, Tom Emmer and Josh Gottheimer are three new members of the group. Davidson has submitted two times to the Congress, the Token Taxonomy Act, which aims to protect cryptocurrencies from securities laws and to clarify the US's judgment on the legal status of digital assets.

Similarly, Emerson is pushing for a bill that wants cryptocurrency startups to be exempt from some state-level regulations, allowing for the development of blockchain platforms and services, as long as the company does not hold or trade cryptocurrencies, Registered currency transfer business in the state where the business is conducted.

Recently, Gottheimer has been an active member of the encryption field. Last month, through Davidson, he also participated in the team that supported the General Classification. He said in a statement:

As blockchains, new lending mediums and financial technologies continue to emerge, we need to build a framework. This is obvious. It not only provides a clearer path for innovation, but also establishes a leading position in the encryption industry and blockchain industry in the United States.

Recently, Lynch, Gottheimer, Emerson, Davidson and special working group member Bryan Steil asked in an open letter to urge the US Internal Revenue Service to clarify the way in which it evaluates the gains and losses of encrypted assets.

The group also includes House of Representatives David Scott, Al Lawson, Cindy Axne, Ben McAdams, Jennifer. Jennifer Wexton, French Hill, and Blaine Luetkemeyer.

Of course, cryptocurrencies have also been criticized in Congress. On May 9, California Rep. Brad Sherman called for a ban on all cryptocurrencies.

We will continue to update Blocking; if you have any questions or suggestions, please contact us!


Was this article helpful?

93 out of 132 found this helpful

Discover more


Exploring MEV Solutions in the BSC Ecosystem BloxRoute and Sentry Node

Binance researcher RUMEEL.BNB explores two BSC ecological MEV solutions the Flashbots-like solution launched by BloxR...


Why not use protocol tokens as gas tokens for rollups?

Conduit founder Andrew Huang believes that the tokens of the rollup protocol do not have new net demand, and as gas t...


Ethereum Merger One Year Anniversary What Changes Have Occurred in the MEV Supply Chain

To celebrate the one-year anniversary of the Ethereum merge and MEV-Boost 5 launch, we will bring you data insights a...


Puffer Finance Research Report LSD Track, a technology-driven seed player with dual staking and dual rewards.

In this issue, Shiliantouyan takes you to a deep understanding of the innovative technology-driven project Puffer. Pu...


MEV Track Overview Have we underestimated its importance?

Nowadays, on-chain arbitrage activities are sometimes collectively referred to as MEV, which is also regarded as a by...


MEV Development Full Analysis From Zero-Sum Game to Separation of Powers

Cryptocurrency researcher Cynic has outlined the development history of MEV and the evolving trend of competitive lan...